Changes to modern awards to affect employers as at 1 March 2020

Every four years, the Fair Work Commission reviews modern awards.  The effect of the Commission’s most recent review (in July 2019), was that the annualised salary arrangements set out in 19 modern awards, set out below, will be changed.

  • Banking, Finance and Insurance Award 2010
  • Clerks – Private Sector Award 2010
  • Contract Call Centres Award 2010
  • Hydrocarbons Industry (Upstream) Award 2010
  • Legal Services Award 2010
  • Mining Industry Award 2010
  • Oil Refining and Manufacturing Award 2010 (clerical employees only)
  • Salt Industry Award 2010
  • Telecommunications Services Award 2010
  • Water Industry Award 2010
  • Wool Storage, Sampling and Testing Award 2010
  • Broadcasting and Recorded Entertainment Award 2010
  • Local Government Industry Award 2010
  • Manufacturing and Associated Industries and Occupations Award 2010
  • Oil Refining and Manufacturing Award 2010 (non-clerical employees)
  • Pharmacy Industry Award 2010
  • Rail Industry Award 2010
  • Pastoral Award 2010, and
  • Horticultural Award 2010.

The new terms will also be included in the following four modern awards (with model clauses that will be inserted after further determination):

  • Health Professionals and Support Services Award 2010
  • Restaurant Industry Award 2010
  • The Marine Towage Award 2010, and
  • Hospitality Industry (General) Award 2010.

The changes affect wage arrangements where employees are paid an annualised wage rates of pay or salary arrangements which are intended to be inclusive of award monetary entitlements especially those relating to overtime or penalty rates. There are significant new obligations imposed on employers that take effect from 1 March 2020.

If you would like specific advice related to your employment contracts and workplace agreements, please contact Jon Wiedman on 07 4637 6300.

Request a consultation